


Program Schedule

8:30 a.m. – 9:15 a.m.  Registration and Breakfast

9:15 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.  Introductory Remarks
  Phyllis Cheng,  Director of the California Department of Fair Employment 
  and Housing 

9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.  S.B. 1038, the Fair Employment and Housing Council, and Development
  of California’s Fair Housing Regulations
 Presenters:   Chanée Franklin Minor and Andrew Schneiderman, 
  Fair Employment and Housing Councilmembers
 Moderator:   Phyllis Cheng,  Director of the California Department of Fair
  Employment and Housing 

10:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. Racial Profiling as a Public Accommodation Issue
 Presenters:   Maria Palomares, Neighborhood Legal Services of Los Angeles
  County; Lili V. Graham, Public Law Center
 Moderator:   Navneet Grewal, Western Center on Law & Poverty

11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. U.S. Supreme Court Civil Rights Year-in-Review 
 Introduction:   Phyllis Cheng,  Director of the California Department of Fair
  Employment and Housing 
 Keynote Speaker:   Dean Erwin Chemerinsky, University of California, Irvine
  School of Law 

12:15 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.  Lunch

1:30 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.  Equal Access:  Updates and Trends Regarding LGBT Access to Housing
  on the Federal and State Levels
 Presenters:   Ashland Johnson, National Center for Lesbian Rights; Chloé Coe,
  United States Department of Housing and Urban Development
 Moderator:   Dan Torres, California Rural Legal Assistance, Inc.

2:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.  BREAK

3:00 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.  Fallout from the Foreclosure Crisis:  Discriminatory Effects on Mortgage
  Lending and Access to Credit
 Panelists:   John P. Relman, Relman, Dane & Colfax PLLC, and Maeve Elise
  Brown, Housing and Economic Rights Advocates
 Moderator:   Servando R. Sandoval, Pahl & McCay
 
4:15 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.  Closing Remarks
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The Sixth Annual 

Fair Housing and Public Accommodations Symposium
April 4, 2014 • University of California • Irvine School of Law • Education Building 1111 • Irvine, CA 

Note: One registrant per form. Photocopies may be used.

Bar Number:   _______________________________________________________________________________

Name:   ____________________________________________________________________________________

Firm:   _____________________________________________________________________________________

Firm Address: _______________________________________________________________________________

City, State:   ____________________________________________________  Zip Code:   ___________________

Phone Number:   ______________________________________    Fax Number:   _________________________

Email Address:   _____________________________________________________________________________

(Required for email confirmation)

REGISTRATION FEES (due by March 28, 2014)
$120  Real Property Law Section Members

 $215 Non-Section Members
  (Includes enrollment in the Real Property Law Section for 2014)

 $55 Non-Profit and Government

 $25 Law Students

AMOUNT ENCLOSED OR TO BE CHARGED $____________

PAYMENT METHOD

______  A check payable to State Bar Real Property Law Section is enclosed.

______  Charge my credit card.

CREDIT CARD INFORMATION (VISA/MasterCard Only)
I authorize the State Bar of California to charge my program registration to my VISA/MasterCard account.  
(No other credit card will be accepted.)

Account Number:   ____________________________________________________________________________

(VISA or MasterCard only)

Expiration Date:   _____________________________________________________________________________

Cardholder’s Name:   __________________________________________________________________________

Cardholder’s Signature:   _______________________________________________________________________
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Registration Information

On-line Registration:  Register online at http://realpropertylaw.calbar.ca.gov. 
Online registration closes after March 28, 2014.

Mail:  Mail to:

Program Registration
State Bar of California
180 Howard Street
San Francisco CA 94105

Fax:  Fax to:

(415) 538-2368 
Credit card payment is required.

Cancellations & Refunds:  Requests must be received in writing by March 28, 2014. 
A $25 processing fee will be charged. No refunds March 28, 2014.

On-site Registration:  On-site registration is subject to availability. 
Call to confirm space availability.

MCLE:  The State Bar of California and the Real Property Law Section are 
State Bar of California approved MCLE Providers.

Questions:  For registration information call (415) 538-2508. 
For information regarding the program call (415) 538-2564.


